My name is Jenni and I am married to Dewi. Together we have three children. Eve is seven, Faith is five and Idris is 17 months. The girls have never been to school as we have home educated from the start. I first read about it when Eve was one, until then I didn't know that it was an option, I just knew that I was already dreading having to make her separate from me against her wishes. Little did I know then that it would be the start of a journey into a lifestyle so alternative from everyone I knew at the time! Since then we have come to know many families of all configurations who home educate across a whole spectrum from totally autonomous to totally structured with most somewhere in the middle!

I have learned so much over the last four years, about myself, about how children learn, about being a family. I continue to read, connect with others around the world and locally, explore ideas new to me, try things out and amalgamate the successful experiments into our days. Home educating can be a roller-coaster and sometimes I crave alone time, but I wouldn't have it any other way!

I started my working life as a registered nurse and worked in Neonatal Intensive Care for many years before registering as a child minder to be at home with my children. I trained as a Montessori teacher for the 3-6 age group with MCI London to enhance my knowledge and expertise in guiding my own children and the mindees. I have recently scaled back the amount of child minding that I am doing as my own children need more of me than I can give when working and as they get older I was finding it harder to marry the two successfully.

I hope you find some content useful to you on here, topics range according to what is happening around here and what I feel compelled to write about! Please leave your comments or contact me via e-mail, I love to hear from people!

No comments:

Post a Comment